Humanity and the perfect recipe for a child’s own opinions

Standard

WARNING – THIS POST CONTAINS RELIGIOUS STAND POINTS THAT MAY DIFFER FROM YOUR OWN, LIBERAL VIEWS, LGBT ACCEPTANCE, THOUGHTS THAT LEAD INTO NOTHING, AND DISDAIN TOWARDS THE WESTBORO BAPTIST CHURCH.
Conservatives reading this is not advised.

Let me preface this by saying that I am religious… to an extent.
I believe in a God. I lean towards the common Judeo-Christian depiction, though I am uncertain of what form this deity holds. (I don’t really believe the whole big guy with beard, robe and sandals thing, though.)
I believe in Jesus Christ. I’ve learned to know him and love him as Yeshua, though, seeing as Jesus is a Mexican name and I don’t know why they’d name a child a Mexican name somewhere in the Middle East. My guess is that it came about when Roman Catholicism first arrived, but I digress. And I do believe that He died for me to wash me of my sins.

What I don’t believe, is the increasingly common Westboro Baptist/Republican/Southern depiction of God. I don’t think God hates anyone, despite contrary belief, and yes that includes the LGBT community as well. I think God loves all, because that’s what God does.
And to end, I think the only way to Hell is by rejecting God and his son.

Now we get to the real topic of this post; Humanity, and forcing personal beliefs into your children… amongst other points.

Children’s minds are like unset Jello. From a certain age, you can tell your children anything and get them to believe it and have it stick. They will grow up believing what you said and what you believe in, because you are really their only “reliable” source of information. Now usually, this is just fine! How else will we form options about the world around us? We need a healthy mixture of our parent’s opinions, our role model’s opinions, even some of our peer’s opinions in order to create our own unique recipe of thoughts and ideas.
Somethings, such as right and wrong, the golden rule, and general etiquette in society, need to be quickly implanted in our children’s very malleable and unset mind before the wrong things get in. I am all for that. That is a parent’s duty, to teach their children the ropes of the world and to give some basic thoughts to think on.

But what I am against is when some parent’s force feed their own definite opinions on matters that a young child doesn’t need to hear or understand.

Take for example, The Westboro Baptist Church. Just to warn you, I despise them for many reasons, so if you happen to be one of their 0.04% of supporters, you might want to leave.
Basically, this church is just a screwed-up, highly dysfunctional family (or cult) that got famous because of their radical nature. This is hardly even a church. They take children from a young age and feed them a diet of homophobia and extreme misanthropy with a big heaping glass of God’s hate to wash it down. This is, quite simply, brain-washing. Those kids know nothing else other than what their parents and other adults in the family tell them. That is NOT fair to these poor children, because this church is fattening them up to be America’s Most Hated 2.0.

Now what I’m about to tell you, feel free to take it with a grain of salt. Feel free to leave that grain of salt behind, and get the hell out of here if you don’t like what I’ve said so far. I’m not forcing this down your throat, because I don’t do that.
I like to give choice.

Here is my recipe for homemade, healthy child opinions;

  • Start with a good, heaping cup of natural choice. What kind, and how much choice is up to you. I prefer the ambiguous brand, but if you feel the need for a conservative, liberal, or feminist flavor, it’s all up to you.
  • As if your life depended on it, quickly whisk in some humanitarianism. Now once again, how much is up to you. With this, I like to leave ALL flavors aside. A human is a human, no matter what sexual orientation, gender, sexual preference, IQ, appearance… so on and so forth. Any outside tinkering can throw the recipe off.
  • Now, not everyone has this or has to do it, but I think it adds a little kick. Add a half-tablespoon of misanthropy to balance out the humanitarianism. Too much of either can COMPLETELY cloud judgement, resulting in a dish either far too sweet or far too spicy.
  • This next part is a group effort. Together, you and your child pick out some of your favorite opinions. They might want a handful from that athlete or celebrity, and you might want some from Grandpa and Mr. Rodgers. Either way, the equal amount of each is important.
  • Finally, mix together, pour through the child’s ears and let slow cook for twelve, sixteen or eighteen years.

 

I think choice is something that a lot of parent’s leave out. Whether it the choice I spoke of here, about their opinions and how they feel, to whether the choice to follow a family profession, or to go college, or to believe in whatever religion.
It isn’t fair to force some of these things down the gullet of a five year old. Because generally, if you give them the choice, most of the time they will come around to what’s right anyways.
And even more so… if you give them choice, sometimes they’ll even fall back to what you believed in the first place.

Now in my childhood, I’ve made choices because most of the time, my family gave me that choice. And you know what happened? I went around, I listened and learned and researched, got my fill of my own views and opinions, then filled the blanks will my parent’s.

Do I believe in their religious views? No.
Do I believe in the paranoia my mother and grandmother share? No.
I DO share most of their liberal views, yes.
I DO share their acceptance of all types and variations of humans, yes.

Because I’ve had the choice, I wasn’t confined to four walls to bounce ideas off of and have them fade and sizzle away, turning me into a brainwashed robot that believes everything my parent’s want me to.
I was able to take in everything around me and turn myself into one unique human-being.

And in the end… that’s what really matters.

And that’s all I have to say about that.

– Brandon Vinton, 3:01 AM

Leave a Reply

