Modern Feminism VS. Gender Equality VS. Humanitarianism

Standard

Before I begin the meat of this post, let me give you a little background on myself. (Don’t worry, it relates to the topic. I won’t be rambling).

I was raised in a regular family. I had a mother, and a father, and later on I had a few siblings. But for a while, I was just me. My father worked pretty much all day, and for a good portion of my life, my mother was a stay-at-home mom. Meaning that during a lot of those crucial points that I talked about before where my brain was like unset Jello, I soaked up a lot of my mom’s opinions.
Some of those opinions and traits would soak up and haunt me later as I tried to change them, but a few of those lessons stuck with me always:

  • Always respect women.
  • They are not objects.
  • Do not sexualize them.
  • Never under any circumstances do you lay a hand on a woman unless in a consent-given, loving gesture.

To this day, I hold everything I learned about women to my heart. My mother had had a difficult younger life, so she was a bit of a feminist, naturally. It didn’t matter, for me, these were the most important things I took away from my childhood.
Even still, to me, being a gentleman in the presence of a lady takes precedence over anything. Even when I was with my ex-girlfriend, a sort of tom-boy who acted more like a bachelor then me, I treated her with the utmost respect, because she is a female.

And THAT should never change. Being a gentleman and showing respect are the CONSTANTS that will never sway or falter to me. But as I grew up, learned more about the world around me and learned what the modern feminist movement basically stood for, things changed. Up until a few years ago, I considered myself a feminist as well, but that changed.

I will start by talking about Modern Feminism. This does not mean ALL of feminism. I am ALL for a woman’s rights, and I am ALL for the equal treatment of men and women. But I’ll get to that later.

Modern Feminism went from equality for men and women, to holding women as the superior gender. To me, it feels like the feminist movement has turned into a revenge scheme against the male gender.
Modern feminists WANT the equal pay, but they don’t want the heavy labor a man has to do.
Modern feminists WANT more respect, but then they go complaining about things with the excuse of “I’m a woman!”
Modern feminists WANT to be treated just like men, but they say it’s unfair and illegal for a man to strike a woman AFTER she’s hit him first, or chased after him with a knife, or gone after him with a pan.

No. No, not happening.
You want to know a little secret? Come in close. You might not like it, but I’ll tell it to you anyways…

Men and women? Most of the time, no, they are not created equally. We both have our weaknesses, and our setbacks, and also our strengths and powers. No, men and women DO NOT have the same weaknesses, nor do we have the same strengths. THAT is why God made us both!

So you know, while we’re here, let’s go ahead and throw in the topic of gender equality.

Here’s a scenario for you; A construction site, you have a two hundred and seventy-five pound man manning the trucks, lifting the steel, carrying concrete. Then we have a woman, maybe one hundred and twenty pounds. She gets the SAME job, because ‘discrimination’ is not allowed. She can’t carry as much, she can’t lift as high. She can carry two steel rods, while the guy can carry eight. A man can carry four sacks of concrete, she can carry one or two.
And THEN she gets in her feminist mode and complains that she doesn’t get as much cash as the man. Switch on the controversy, turn on the debates and arguments.
But the construction company was right in not paying her as much, because she wasn’t doing the same amount of work.

NOW SWITCH! A petite guy, and a hulking women. Uncommon, yes, but same exact scenario except the genders are switched. This time, the MAN doesn’t get paid as much as the woman, and is it still fair? YES.

This is my problem with modern feminism… and why I’m against it. A woman can’t do as much work? Pay her less. A man can’t do as much work? Pay him less. It is NEVER right for a man to strike a woman first. But she comes at you and hurts you physically? Defend yourself, bro, and DON’T FEEL BAD.

So I’m against modern feminism. I’m all for giving credit where credit is due, payment where it is deserved no matter what gender… but, “I am woman, hear me roar, and you are man, go sit in a corner because you aren’t as good as us?” Not so much.

And you know what? As much as I like gender equality… I’m gonna go ahead and be against it. You know why?
Because there’s a better option.

HUMANITARIANISM.

Listen. Men and women, we should be equal in the uncommon circumstances that WE ARE EQUAL. Like I said, we have different strengths and weaknesses, so just by BIOLOGICAL standards, we aren’t equal.
But we should ALL be treated with the same amount of RESPECT.
We ALL should get the same RIGHTS.
We should NEVER be discriminated due to gender.
And we should NEVER have our opinions thrown out due to gender.

But instead of focusing on women’s rights, or male’s rights, or gender equality, let’s look at the big picture.
There are a lot of us on this Earth. Over seven billion, apparently. And you know, we all speak different languages, we look a little different, our face might be a different color than someone else’s.
Ask yourself… does that change the fact that we are all humans?
We are all the same… we are all human-beings with a heart that pumps, a brain that thinks, eyes that see and ears to hear! What is it that makes us so different? Are we really killing each other and showing discrimination because my skin is light, and across the world, theirs is a bit darker?
There have been WARS because of this, people!

And I think this is one the biggest modern culprits of causing war; religion.

All wars based on religion are stupid. I believe in one god, you believe in many, but you know what? I don’t even think a war over monotheism and polytheism has happened! (Please correct me if I am… though it is still a stupid reason to have a war).
You know why these religious wars happen?

Because I believe in God. You believe in God too, but you worship him differently.

REALLY?! Are we, as a human race, that petty that we have to fight because I like my God served in a cathedral and you like your God served in a mosque? Think about it. That has caused a lot of fights.

We are ALL human-beings, and if you are religious, then realize that God created EVERYONE whether YOU like it or not. To the Westboro Baptist Church, God must have had a plan for… anyone outside of the Westboro Baptist Church. To any Muslims, God must have had a plan for those Jews. And to the Jews, and other variations on Christianity, same thing goes for you!

We are all people. We all live on Earth. We all love, and feel, and smell and taste and see… why can’t that be enough? Why do we have to focus on what makes us different, instead of focusing on what makes us the same?

I don’t think we should worry about what gender gets more money in their paycheck.
I don’t think we should worry if we have gender equality.

I think we need to work on human equality. Because we are all people.

And we all matter.

And that’s all I have to say about that.

– Brandon, 4:32 PM

Leave a Reply

