On the Matter of Exercising and Dieting

Standard

This post is going to be simple.
Non-controversial.
Easy to read.

This is all from ME… with personal experiences to boot. If you’re struggling with some of these things, I’ll give you some advice. Otherwise, you can leave this post alone.

Let’s talk about exercising.

Exercising – some people love it, some people hate it, some people know they should but don’t.
For a long time, I had a problem being active at all. I didn’t play sports, and the only thing that moved was my mouth when I ate.
I stayed on my computer, I played video games, and ate an entire frozen dinner for a snack.

I eventually began to gain a lot of weight.
I was skinny, for a long period of time. Like, real skinny. But I began to get broader, I gained muscle mass, and… fat mass.
Skipping ahead some, once I began over two hundred pounds I felt like something was off.
But I kept going.

Now, I have never been obese, let me get that out of the way. I’ve been a little over chubby, but always under obese. I was simply overweight, and I knew it. But I had a big problem with overeating, and lack of activity.

Growing up, of course, will switch your body around some. I am a big guy by nature, broad shoulders like a linebacker, thick upper arms. I haven’t been the 4’11, 106 pound little sixth grader for a while.
So things switched around. A couple months ago, I weighted about two hundred and thirty three pounds.
I’m about the same build and size as my father, and yet I weighted more than him.
Then, I realized I had a camp coming up that required lots of activity.
And then I just decided that I was tired of being a chubby guy.

That’s when I started the dieting.

Dieting is hard, for a lot of people. What to eat, when to eat, how to eat. For a while I played around with the ideas of juicing, the grapefruit diet, even the starvation diet. All sorts of gimmicky ways to lose weight.
Then, I found the most efficient way to diet, that beat out any plan, any paid organization, anything.

It was simply the practice of counting calories.

Look it up, there is a lot of websites that can tell you what you should weigh, (although those are usually a bunch of malarkey, because they don’t take into account muscle weight), and tell you how many calories you should consume to either lose, maintain, or gain weight.

Now a lot of these differed, so I originally went with a two thousand calorie a day diet.

But it was hard to count those calories, especially if the serving size was something weird like one half milli-teaspoon of a cup.
Then once again, there was something great.

Almost everyone has a smartphone these days. And we know that these phones can almost due anything.

Including count your calories for you.

If you are looking to watch what you eat, and diet a little, I cannot recommend the app AND website, www.myfitnesspal.com more.
When you start up the app, or go to the website, you create an account and put in some information. Height, weight, age, etc…

Then it tells you how many calories you should eat a day.
And then… when ever you eat a meal, you just put it into the app or website.
It has a LOT of different foods in their database. You can also can bar-codes with your camera for easy adding. And if there something that they don’t have, you can just create a new food and put it in yourself.

You can track the food you eat, the calories you consume, and also… it can track the calories you burn.

At first, you’ll have to figure it out yourself. Figure out how long you went on that run, and then it will generate the calories you’ve burned, and put that back in the calories you can eat for that day.

There is another app and website, called www.mapmywalk.com, and if you sync it with My Fitness Pal, every time you walk… run… treadmill, whatever, it will take it and automatically put it into your account, giving you back those calories.

A little tip, there… treat those calories like a budget. You have to get what you need, you can’t spend over the budget, and you should always save a little if you can.
That sort of mentality works really well when using this.

And that’s all for dieting… but for exercising?

Like I said before, some love it and some hate it.
And I’ve really grown to enjoy it.
Putting it in my schedule and doing it everyday is something I look forward too as I go to sleep at night.
And once again, there are a few apps that can help you with it.

Pushup/Squat/Sit-up/ Pro.
These are apps that are really simple. When you first open them, you do a little endurance test to see how many of whatever one you are using you can do.
Then it generates a series of rounds for you to do based on that, and when you do them… you just put the tablet or phone on the ground, and do a push-up, touching your nose to a big button in the middle of the screen.
Every touch is counted as one.
Then it calculates what you can do, what you should do, and what you will be doing next.

I also enjoy the Johnson and Johnson Seven Minute Workout.
Very intense. Very fast paced. All you need is yourself, a floor, a wall and a chair and you’ll be set.
For the first few times, you’ll be sweating bullets if you give it your full.

Last thing I can recommend is sort of an all around thing. It doesn’t even have to be an app.

Get a pedometer. App or physical device, get one. It is really nice to go on a walk/jog/run, and see your progress right there. It gives you a reason to keep going, almost like a game, keep trying to beat your high-score.

And that’s all I really have today. I just wanted to keep it simple, easy, and a little personal. No deep thinking today.

Thanks for your time, and if any of this applies to you, I wish you the best in your endeavors.

And that’s all I have to say about that.

– Brandon, 2:55 PM

 

Leave a Reply

