‘Black Veil Brides’ Album Review

Standard

A little while ago, I talked about the evolution of a band’s sound, and followed it up with a review of two separate bands new single(s).

One of those bands was Black Veil Brides’ two songs, “Heart of Fire” and “Faithless” which came off of their new, self-titled album.
I talked about how they truly made a fantastic evolution from a screamo band that dressed like Motley Crue and Kiss’s love baby, and that they had slowly but surely became just simply good rock and roll. The two singles were highly rated by me because they reminded me of the classic hard rock and metal that I enjoy, Judas Priest, Dio, Iron Maiden… so on and so forth.

So when the self-titled album popped up on Spotify, I sat down, and I gave it a listen.
And what happened was something strange.

I don’t know if I’m used to disappointment by now, but at first listen I came out of it thinking that I had been wrong. I thought it was okay, but not what I expected.
Then, the next day, in order to listen a little closer I played it again.
And I had the exact opposite reaction.

As I write this, I’m listening to Black Veil Brides for the seventh time since it came out six days ago. That’s about once a day. It’s become part of my routine. This album was everything I could have asked for and even more. I don’t know what I was thinking the first time around, but I was wrong. Every time I listen to it, it gets better. I’m not going to do a track by track review for this, because EVERY SONG IS GOOD.

Yes, it is one of those rare beings, the album in which there isn’t a single song I’ve either had to skip or tolerate. Every song is wonderful. None of them feel like filler.

This album is a perfect combination of hard rock, modern metal, and a very little bit of their screamo roots. The music and tune is hard, but when Andy Biersack sings, it is clean, clear, and soulful. When he is singing the lyrics, there is so growling or screaming or mumbling… that is usually a big problem with modern metal bands, but not here. He’s found a good combination to fit in with the heavy drums and raging guitar. He sings with purpose here, and not a single word of any lyric goes to waste.

You can really feel that they’ve grown up. They’ve cleaned themselves up lyrically, musically, and in their own style. Their evolution has truly been a sight to behold, and I have no qualms calling myself a fan of Black Veil Brides after this album.

So, like I said before, because all the songs are great I’m not going to do a track by track review. Instead, I’m going to give you my four favorite songs off of the eleven track album, in no particular order.

Faithless

This was one of the singles they released in September, along with Heart of Fire, and I simply like this one better. I enjoy the lyrics a lot more, (Heart of Fire, while a good song, feels a bit too angsty), I enjoy the chorus and the beat more, and over-all I feel it is the better song.

Devil In The Mirror

This song is just wow, and it probably my favorite song on the album. It starts off strong, carries everything beautifully, has a great chorus… and I particularly enjoy the quick moment in which the drums and guitar stop, and it’s just Andy’s voice singing. It was powerful.

Goodbye Agony

The name makes it sound like it would be a really angsty song. The name itself bleeds emo, but in actuality… the song is really, really good and the name fits in with the song well. It is one of the softer songs on the album, as per BVB tradition to have at least one soft rock song on every album. But it’s great, it really is.

Drag Me To The Grave

The previous song, Walk Away, sounds like it could be the last song on the album. In fact, the first couple of times I played the album I didn’t even look at the track list, I just pressed play and let it go, and the ending of that song actually really works as an album end.
So this song comes as a very nice surprise, and comes in strong with Andy bellowing the name of the song at the beginning.
This is just a really solid song. You’ve probably guessed it by now, but I really appreciate a good sounding chorus, and this one has a great one. It’s just a good rock song, like all the others, that really makes you want to bang your head to the beat.

As I get further and further into the album, I want to just put every song on this list. This is a REALLY good album. There is not a single song that gets below a four out of five, and even then, the majority of them are five stars. This is a brilliant album, and has some of the best guitar work I have heard in a long time. This album rivals Judas Priests’ 2014 album, “Redeemer of Souls”, and I don’t say that lightly. I made a public statement that basically said that “Redeemer of Souls” is the public’s reminder of what heavy metal should sound like.

And now, Black Veil Brides comes out with this. If they can keep it up, if they can keep this quality going… I think someday soon, Black Veil Brides will be the kings of metal.
Fall Out Boy tried saving rock and roll, and instead they rescued pop rock.
Black Veil Brides weren’t even trying… and they ended up saving heavy metal.

Black Veil Brides’ self-titled album gets a 5/5 stars.

And that’s all I have to say about that.

– Brandon, 11:35 AM

Leave a Reply

