NaNoWriMo Final Update – Wrap Up and Wind Down

Hello, everyone! Welcome to December – the last month of the year is upon us, and NaNoWriMo has concluded.
I apologize for the lack of posts, but due to my actual job, the holiday, and the amount of writing I had to try to make up… I didn’t have any time to write anything besides my story.

So, this is my NaNoWriMo final update, and that calls for the question… how did I do? DID I make it?
If you follow me on Twitter, you already know, but yes! I won NaNoWriMo for the first year, clocking in at 50,043 words on the 29th.
My shirt has been ordered, and I’m breathing sighs of relief everyday. It was long, tiring, and hard work – but also exhilarating, exciting, and the kick in the ass I needed to get a story I had been planning for three years written.
It was completely worth it, every word, every day, every night spent working until the morning sun churning out page after page… I wouldn’t give it up for anything. And you can definitely count me in for NaNo 2015.

As for my story, ‘The Bright Side to the Dark Arts’, it in of itself isn’t finished. I have surpassed the 50k, but I still have approximately six-seven chapters left to write. I’m edging towards the finale, and I’m excited to see exactly how it’s going to turn out.

…But I’m taking a break, for now. I’m planning on a week or two of vacation before I buckle down and finish it up. I plan to have it completed before Christmas, edited by mid January, and passed around to a few people for test reads shortly there after. The completed book itself, if everything goes to plan, will be released in May.

Until then, though, I’ll keep everyone updated on Twitter and on Thursdays here with progress. I’ll release a proper synopsis, share some character information, and might even release the first few chapters for reading.

I’m very excited for this novel. It isn’t my first fiction story, but my first full length fiction novel. And I love the genre, and I’m enjoying this world so much, you know? It’s really a fun place to be, and to write about, and the characters are simply fantastic. I feel like they’ve taken a life of their own, I don’t even have to think anymore, just place my fingers on the keyboard and let them whisk me away.

In short… it’s going well.

So to all the other winners, I want to give them a round of applause and wish them the best with their novel. And to the ones who wrote a single word, but perhaps didn’t win… I want to give them a round of applause and wish them the best with their novel.
Whatever you wrote, it’s that much more than you had before. And it takes a lot of brains, guts, and caffeine tolerance to start a novel, let alone write it, and complete it.
If you didn’t win, just remember that the next NaNoWriMo is only a year away. If 2015 is anything like 2014, it’ll just fly by.

And that’s about it for today. Because of the weird posting date, I will be skipping my usual Tuesday post and pick back up again Thursday, and everything will continue like normal from there.
Have a good day, a good week, and I’ll talk to you on Thursday.

And that’s all I have to say about that.

– Brandon, 1:09 AM

Leave a Reply

