Ghost

You are nothing but a ghost to me
And I run from you
Fearful of what your eyes can do
And you chase after me
With that fierce conviction
That you’re going in the right direction
Because when the moon is hidden
Behind grey clouds and rolling thunder
And no light is able to escape
From that empty chill under
God’s righteous fist
And the leaves crunch under heavy feet
As we try to catch our breath between fast and frightful sips
Of heavy night time air
And my chest burns and my eyes sting
And I collapse under the weight I cannot bear
You approach my body – dead for years, a whisper in the breeze, the sound of the wind in the trees –
And while I try to look away
You reach out to me
And you’ve seen my dreams
Where we’re alive and I believe
There’s no better place to be
And you know as well as I
That I will refuse to say goodbye again
I won’t come to your grave
And try to begin
To live as I die
As you lie
underneath.
Quietly sleeping – as you fade into the mist
With the sounds of gentle weeping
As the fog rolls across the hills and moonlit scape
No, I will not bargain
I will not wait
You’re nothing but a ghost to me
and in the cold, empty winter
I will still run from you
Wishing our paths didn’t have to splinter in two
That prayers would be answered
before I would have had to choose
And I see the clouds in the sky
And I beg God not to let the light break through
Because behind me, I’m still afraid of what your eyes can do

Leave a Reply

