No Sense

All I want to do
Is see you
And I can’t understand why
I can’t keep myself from looking your way
It makes less sense
Than snow in July
But every time I look to you
I hope to catch your eye.
Though it doesn’t matter – it would never be
I’m in love with someone
And I’m supposed to believe
That I’m doing what’s best for me
There’s no mail on Sundays
No sun on a rainy day
It wouldn’t make sense to change
What is already set in place
To try to change the ways
That I’ll be left here, stuck with nothing to say

I don’t know why
I keep thinking about you
It makes no sense to me –
It’s like claiming the ocean is only ten feet deep
There’s no reason why
I keep picturing your face
I hear your voice
And all sense seems to leave
The sun doesn’t go around us
And the Earth doesn’t stand in place
And yet here I am
Sense gone without a trace
And I still have no clue
What I am to do
Meant to love something other than you
Still forced to believe
That I know what’s right for me
Other things still remain the same –
The rising of the sun,
The turning of the tides
Yet despite being so sure in these things
My feelings remain the most intense
In these things that make no sense

Leave a Reply

