Over the Shore

Everyday I hear the story
that you loved me
like I loved you
everyday just another story
of what’s to come next
and what was before me
trying to keep my head above water while the storm rages on
I see the misguided direction all around
as I try to walk before I crawl
but I knew that you were never there at all
we could dance for days
on the cliff of what would have
over the rocks of what never should have
but I don’t want to look back and see –
I just want to go back to the shore
and believe that was it for me
as my regrets stand tall

And if we fall
will you be here at all
to see me at the end
of this cliff
of the day
at the hall
would you dare say a word
for fear of what would come next
everything at once
or not a thing at all
rest assured
I wouldn’t lift my head
so you couldn’t tell if I heard you
so we could go back without the embarrassment
of things better left unsaid
but could you let it be
those foggy mirrors
windows through which you see me
let the sun set on this day
take your bag and drive away
there’s not a thing for us to say
to change
what was
never there
at
all

Leave a Reply

