Dark Skies

I want to know
Why the light around us always seems fleeting
With every second I stand alone with you
I just want to see
Why there’s nothing here for me
And all that’s left is all I know
Two feet standing on the ground, and the pitter patter
Of the rain’s melodic fall
Drown me out
Pull me in
The dark skies are but the first signal of what’s just about to begin

Will I understand?
Come to terms with the situation here at hand?
These gray clouds and duller words
The crack of thunder is the only thing I ever heard
The horizon stays empty
As all the lights fade down
Left in the flood is all that we lost
And that we found
Look up to them –
Take it all in
Feel the trembling of the world
Underneath your frightful skin
Admit that the end of the world
Isn’t the end of sin
Crash and fall
Flash of the lightning’s crawl
The cooing of the wind turns to harsh screams
And all that’s left
Is what I refused to believe

A battle amongst the heavens
The black and gray versus the brightest blue
And the skies begin to dry
And nothing reigns supreme
As eternity looms nigh
And I cannot fathom the forever standing in front of me
As the trumpets start to blare
And when the people look above
You can see the light in the air
The skies ripple open and the seraphim ride through
Yet the end of all things
Is just something else to do
And they call to the masses
All that was and all that will ever be
Those who stood firm in faith
And those who could never believe
Yet I look above, alone as I was, and I know –
There will be nothing more for me

Leave a Reply

